MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: What a noob - SQL Error: 1045 - Access denied for user
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I'm a noob.  When setting up my first forum on ipage I used the same username as my wordpress DB when I set up the new mybb DB.  I locked myself out of my site until ipage fixed it.  Now of course I am locked out of mybb but I cannot just reset the password on the mysql db for mybb.  I created another user but I the error I get:

MyBB has experienced an internal SQL error and cannot continue.

SQL Error:1045 - Access denied for user 'myuser1'@'10.x.x.x' (using password: YES)
Query:[READ] Unable to connect to MySQL server

myuser1 is what I went through setup with.  How can I fix this? I now have a myuser2 setup in mysql for this db.

Thanks!
~/inc/config.php file consists of the database details. ensure that you have correct details in it
$config['database']['hostname'] = '__________';
$config['database']['username'] = '__________';
$config['database']['password'] = '__________';
(2015-07-20, 04:07 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]~/inc/config.php file consists of the database details. ensure that you have correct details in it
$config['database']['hostname'] = '__________';
$config['database']['username'] = '__________';
$config['database']['password'] = '__________';

I have the same problem trying to log into my site:

MyBB SQL Error
SQL Error:1045 - Access denied for user '********'@'localhost' (using password: YES)Query:[READ] Unable to connect to MySQL server
Please contact the MyBB Group for technical support.

I can not log into my site, or upgrade it. I have checked that file, it is correct, the same as it has been for years now. I am trying to upgrade to 1.8.5, I had 1.8.*, 2 upgrades have now passed, 1.8.4 and 1.8.5. (reason for time delay on the updates: medical).