MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Changing Colors of things in 8.1
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, new guy here. I'm brand new to this so please treat me like I know nothing more than how to walk and breath at the same time.  Wink

I am looking to change a few colors of mybb but I am not sure where to start. I guess I will start out slow and do one thing at a time. I know nothing about CSS so please be patient with me.

In the default theme, the bars that run across the forum are Black and Blue. I would like to change them to dark green and light green. I found a hex color picker on the net so this will help me with picking the green hex numbers(?).

Can anyone tell me where to go in the admin control panel to find the place I need to change? does anyone know what the hex numbers are for the Black and Blue are so that I can hunt & peck my way through the code and change things out?

I dont need to change the admin side of the house, just what the users will see unless one changes the other and I get a 2fur. 

There are other things I want to change but I will start with this for now.

Thanks for your help in this.
John

P.S. I almost forgot, here is the forum: www.diybiochar.org/forum .  I have not added any topics yet so you can see what I am talking about on the main forum page. The black and blue bars (I don't know what they are called) for the forum. Thanks!
in general, this method can be used to change the colors of MyBB theme in version 1.8.x

html color codes can be seen here

however, may be its better to install & use a new theme which suits more for your forum
MyBB 1.8.x themes => http://community.mybb.com/mods.php?actio...ory=themes
theme installation guidance => http://community.mybb.com/thread-163256.html
Thanks for the reply!