MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Allow to use flat file for theme development
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
May I suggest for the new MyBB to be able to work with flat files and bypass cache and database for *both* stylesheets and templates.

I am new to MyBB. With 1.8.6 I couldn't find a way to efficiently work on a custom theme. I asked in the theme development forum for a solution and the only thing that was suggested is a modification, which also works only for Sublime Text editor. So I ended up hacking css.php to bypass the cache if I have a flat file present in a theme/ folder. .. and that takes care only of the stylesheets.

Backups 
So I am still left with templates in the database. So everytime I do backups of my Git repo..  all the work I put in the large selection of templates... is potentially lost if I make a mistake and replace my local database (which is a likely event, since it is just a test database for trying out plugins and the like). Thus I have to make sure to remember to export the templates table. Export via admin is not an option, because that's slow and manual. So I have to add mysqldump to my backup script to make sure I don't lose my templates work if I don't pay attention.

Inefficient
There really ought to be a better way for experienced developers and designers to work with flat files for both stylesheets and templates. There are so many templates and I am new to MyBB therefore to learn my way around I have to search a lot. Since I don't have access to flat files, I have to use mysql queries in order to find out if a string exists in this or that template. I can't use my usual search tools (Terminal+grep, or your typical "search in folder" GUI of your text editor of choice).

Collaboration