MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Forum/Site integration questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So, I'm new to myBB and fairly new to PHP so I'm having a hard time just figuring out where to start with integrating my forums into my site. I really just need some hints and tips to get me started. I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge on the topic.
Basically my forums are just attached to my website. I want to be able to tell a few things about the user. I need to be able to figure out if the person viewing my page is logged in to the forums and if so I need to be able to refer to their username and avatar. I assume that I do this with the session ID but I have no idea where to start.
I'm guessing it'd be something like; identify session ID, use this to determine which user it is, then use the user ID to find things like their avatar or permission tier.
Any help on understanding how this might work or tips on where to start to figure this out would be really helpful. I'm more interested in learning how to fish rather than to be given fish in this case, if that makes any sense. Thanks in advance for any help.
How is your current site set up? If it is mainly static pages then you could integrate it into MyBB pretty easily using the portal page and other custom pages. If it is a blog with posts (wordpress) that can be a bit harder. Can you provide a forum url? You can pm it if you prefer.
The site itself is currently simple HTML pages.
http://xenocrystserver.com/index.php - This goes to the forums but the site itself is simply xenocrystserver.com. It's currently devoid of content. I'm still working on getting the functionality set up first (it's also my first website, in my defense).
i'm not terribly familiar with the portal page. I suppose this is something I should look into now.