MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Another 500 Internal Service Error
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Before anyone gets frustrated with me for posting something that has been posted by many people in the past, please note that I have been reading as many forum posts I can find from different websites on this issue.

I have never worked with forum building before, and I just downloaded and installed MyBB 1.8.6. I followed the instructions and the installation went perfectly. I also can log in as an administrator (*mywebsite*.com/forum/admin) and edit the settings of the forum. (And I'm impressed with MyBB so far.)

The problem I'm having is when I go to *mywebsite*.com/forum (that's where I installed it, in a directory called "forum"), I get a 500 Internal Service Error. This confuses me how I am able to edit the forum as an admin, but the normal forum URL brings back an error. (I've also tried directly going to forum/index.php -- same result.)

From every post I've read so far, I've learned a 500 ISE can be just about anything, so most of those trying to help ask for the specific error message, which on my end reads: "The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request. Please contact the server administrator, and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error. More information about this error may be available in the server error log."