MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Admin "Powers"
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
My friend who set up my website is the Super Admin. I'm just an Admin. Well, my friend passed away last week and now I'm stuck in the dark for a few things. Is there any way possible I can get Super Admin "powers" now? I'm thinking no.

Thanks Gary J. aka Bloodstock64

www.saddlejacks.com/forums
IF you installed it from your cpanel then you can easily know Super Admin password in you softaculous>Installed applications>Your forum(MyBB) or simply you can do that via MySQL visit MyBB_users and change password(in md5) of uid 1. You need to encrypt your password by MD5 as it uses md5 encryption as password.
do you have access to files ? config.php file in inc folder has super admin related setting.
$config['super_admins'] = '1';
you can put your user ID there instead of earlier user id (viz., 1) and save the file.
$config['super_admins'] = '2';
(2015-11-21, 02:37 PM)Dark-Power-Invader Wrote: [ -> ]IF you installed it from your cpanel then you can easily know Super Admin password in you softaculous>Installed applications>Your forum(MyBB) or simply you can do that via MySQL visit MyBB_users and change password(in md5) of uid 1. You need to encrypt your password by MD5 as it uses md5 encryption as password.

My friend was a SEO so he set up EVERYTHING back in August 2014. I was just the site/forum organizer. I still don't know what 60% of the stuff is in the Admin Control Panel.

The site went down twice because of non payment to Hostgator but I
m guessing he paid the monthly fee. The second time it went down, he was close to his death bed so maybe his wife paid it.

To answer your question, NO, I don't have access to cpanel.

(2015-11-21, 02:41 PM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]do you have access to files ? config.php file in inc folder has super admin related setting.
$config['super_admins'] = '1';