MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: MyBB on Ubuntu VPS - Mail & IP's
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I installed LAMP on my Ubuntu 15.04 server and so far everything is working fine on my MyBB forum except for two things.

1. Seems like there's a problem with IP addresses
2. Need help with mail setup

My first problem I think there's something wrong between the DB and IP's. In the ACP everyone's registration IP and last sign-in IP are all the same. There are also no IP's listed in /online.php for admins to see. What do I need to do for IP's to be handled correctly?

My second problem is mail. Members will not receive an Activation Email and can't dispatch a password recovery to their email. I'm very new to hosting MyBB on a VPS so I may have missed a couple things but initially MyBB is installed and everything else is OK. 

Do I need to install a couple things on my VPS? Thanks for your support, MyBB!
for the IP address, below setting might help
admin panel >> configuration (settings) >> Server and Optimization Options >>
Scrutinize User's IP address? --> select yes and save settings

for the mail issue, see http://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/mail/
(2016-03-17, 04:38 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]for the IP address, below setting might help

So..

I just read through the docs you gave me and can confirm PHP mail function IS working. I just granted myself an award on my forum and I got an email saying I got a private message from MyBB Engine granting my award. So it looks like mail is working fine on that end, but I then just tried to register an account on my site with another email and I'm not getting an activation email. Whatsoever, not even in spam. 

IP addresses are having the same deal. Not sure if someone's got to log in and out for changes to be made or what.
(2016-03-17, 05:00 AM)Islander Tony Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-03-17, 04:38 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]for the IP address, below setting might help