MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: MyBB Installation Wizard - Database Configuration
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I read through some of the older threads with others having this issue: 

Error
There seems to be one or more errors with the database configuration information that you supplied:
  • Could not connect to the database server at 'localhost' with the supplied username and password. Are you sure the hostname and user details are correct?
Once the above are corrected, continue with the installation.

Unfortunately, all of the answers made no sense what-so-ever to my coding-ignorant self. I am completely new to this platform - just downloaded it today - and I don't understand what input information it is asking for. I saw in some answers from others threads that I need the username and password to my mybb database. I didn't know I had one, yet! I'm so very confused and would appreciate help. Step-by-painful-step for the common person help, please!
where are you installing MyBB (who is web host) ?

basically a database needs to be created in the server,
that database usage privileges should be granted to a user
and database name, user name & password should be noted for later use.

MyBB source files should be uploaded & installation wizard can be run with database details

please have a look at a few search results => MyBB + install + tutorial
I clicked through the video links and was able to follow the visual instructions. Thank you so much for your help!!
And once your done put your user and pass and database into Mybb.
Click the MySQL Database Wizard under the Databases heading
Next to New Database enter a name for your database and click Next Step
Next to Username enter a username.
Enter a password next to Password, enter it again for Password (Again) and then click Create User