MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: getting started making plugins
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I more or so want to get started in making plugins because i etiher cant find the plugins i want, or i want to modify existing plugins to do what i want them to do.

I was expecting stickies to be filled with how-to's and starting plugin dev, but i dont see much.

1) Where can i find information regarding learning to develop plugins?
2) What knowledge is required to be able to develop plugins? I am fluent in python, OK with CSS/HTML, and have some c/c++...but i only worked with php recently when trying to tweak plugins. I think i get it, its just a little different syntax. I have no knowledge of mysql and how to extract or insert data into it. And i dont know Javascript, Ajax, etc. Im not sure which of these are needed for learning to plugins. 
3) I have a mybb forum, but i dont want to test my soon to be plugins on a real forum. I want a test forum. Do you guys just make a local install and test it on that for each plugin? Or is there an easier way to develop?
Some basic information for developing plugins can be found here: https://community.mybb.com/thread-137925.html. You can find more advanced information here:https://github.com/dragonexpert/tutorial...pment.html.

You'll need to know basic PHP and SQL for creating plugins. There is a database class that is used so you are able to just write your queries. I know Python is a server side language, but I'm not familiar with how to get it to interact with PHP if that is even possible.

It is recommended to run a test forum for testing plugins. Just change the cookie settings in both settings.php and in the database. I typically develop on my live forum, but that is because I've been creating plugins for a long time.