MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Mybb 1.8.6/1.8.10 forum Hacked (URL Injection?), website destroyed.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello everyone,
I'd like to share my experience I had a couple of weeks ago.

So, I've been using MyBB for a few years now.  I've never had any "hack" problems in the past.

However, earlier during the year, myself and all other members noticed odd things happening... Sometimes, when I logged in, it was displaying another username than my own, when I tried to log out, it gave me an error saying "javascript" is affecting the logout.

So I upgraded the forum to 1.8.10, hoping this would resolve the issue (from 1.8.6).

Then, things got worse.. much worse.
Anytime a member refreshed the page they where logged in as someone else, even if they weren't logged in to begin with.
Some pages on my website remained the exact same after editing code.  (Example, an edited html page looked the exact same as it did before it was edited).
Members then randomly logged into a secret administrator account.  In our cbox (chat room) for the website the hacker started to tease and taunt of his success, he spoke Chinese with the username "DiamondKevin".  At this point I knew the website was hacked.

The website became unusable, I had to close it down from my website provider.
I'm currently rebuilding a new website on a new web server with MyBB 1.8.10 hoping that the issue was in an older version causing the hack.

I didn't have much plugins either, in fact, I only had the "MyProtection" plugin.  Luckily they got no passwords from this hack either.  I feel this hack is due to URL injection.

I'd like to hear your thoughts about this everyone,

Stay safe!
This sounds like your host caches pages aggressively. User A visits the site, host caches it and user B sees the site that was generated for user A.

Related discussion: https://community.mybb.com/thread-194804.html