MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Blocking spammers and the unwanted
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am currently under attack from someone in San Jose (so the IP Addresses suggest) and Moscow.

They are registering new users with Bio's that advertise a business and with userid and passwords that would lead directly to that business.

How do I stop these b*****d's without clamping down heavily on the site for decent users?

I am not technical and so be gentle with me.

At the moment I have switched to 'Account Activation' to stop these new accounts becoming live but I now have to sort through the 'awaiting' accounts and delete the unwanted accounts - 99% of them!

I see a Captcha option - what does that do and how do I set it up if it's the way to go?
(2017-01-22, 04:49 PM)Stairs Wrote: [ -> ]I am currently under attack from someone in San Jose (so the IP Addresses suggest) and Moscow.

They are registering new users with Bio's that advertise a business and with userid and passwords that would lead directly to that business.

How do I stop these b*****d's without clamping down heavily on the site for decent users?

At the moment I have switched to 'Account Activation' to stop  these new accounts becoming live but I now have to sort through the 'awaiting' accounts and delete the unwanted accounts - 99% of them!

I see a Captcha option - what does that do and how do I set it up if it's the way to go?

Do you have Stop Forum Spam set up ?

Admin CP > Configuration > Stop Forum Spam.
(2017-01-22, 05:14 PM)sarisisop Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-22, 04:49 PM)Stairs Wrote: [ -> ]I am currently under attack from someone in San Jose (so the IP Addresses suggest) and Moscow.

At the moment I have switched to 'Account Activation' to stop  these new accounts becoming live but I now have to sort through the 'awaiting' accounts and delete the unwanted accounts - 99% of them!