MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Spam Bots
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone,

FORUM URL: http://tokyoghoulv2.decadence-rpg.net/index.php

I've been using MyBB as my go to forum provider for 6 years now and I have never had an extreme problem with bots until now. I've been struggling with warding them off for a couple months now. They originally would register and do nothing else. Now they're posting in boards, threads, and editing their user avatars and signatures.

Sometimes I go to delete certain bot accounts too and then it creates 5 other bot accounts from deleting the one account. I've accidentally deleted member accounts before because the Users & Groups tab in the Admin CP doesn't always update accordingly to when I've deleted bot accounts.

I have my forum set up to require someone to enter a Captcha and accounts to do e-mail activation but that is not preventing bots from flooding my forum. On average I have around 10-15 bot accounts daily register.

What are courses of action I can take to stop this madness from happening? These bots seem to be highly intelligent.

Also, I have no idea why the copyright for MyBB has disappeared from the footer of my forum. I have the code in the footer still but none of it is appearing.

Thanks everyone for your help.
Regarding the copyright notice part, check your footer template for that skin and look for the copyright notice and see if this is still there:
Powered By <a href="https://mybb.com" target="_blank">MyBB</a>, &copy; 2002-2017 <a href="https://mybb.com" target="_blank">MyBB Group</a>.

If it's not then add it back in.  (I checked via inspect element and view source but it didn't show up there for me. )

As for dealing with bots... Do you have registertime and securityquestions set up?