MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Something wrong with permissions or cookies
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, I am new to MyBB (and any type of forum software). I have just installed the product and it seems to be working for the most part. But I have one problem. No matter what I do, it won't remember that I am logged in. So, even though I do log in, and it recognizes me, as soon as I click to another page (say, to write a post), it asks me to log in again. It does this over and over. I am thinking that it has something to do with either permissions of files on the server or cookies on my computer.

On permissions, I went through and changed the permissions exactly as in the installation instructions. I have also gone back and confirmed that they are still set correctly.

On cookies, I went into the security tab of IE7 and listed my domain as one from which to accept all cookies, then I went into Zone Alarm and added the domain, giving it permissions for all types of cookies.

Another reason I think it may be on the server end is that I do not have the same problem here on this site.

Can anyone point me in the right direction about how to fix this? Thanks!
Check that your cookie settings are right: [Wiki: Cookies] (Broken link, head over to docs.mybb.com instead)
Tikitiki Wrote:Check that your cookie settings are right: [Wiki: Cookies] (Broken link, head over to docs.mybb.com instead)

Well, I thought you had it there because, when I checked that, it turned out that I should have had my cookie domain and path set to .mydomain.org and /forum/ instead of the default . and /. I figured that would sort it right out.