MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Login Problem where new domain does not work, old domain alias does
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
OK, this is a bit complex,please bear with me. I am a newbie

On September 1st, I set up an account with InMotionhosting for a domain ending in .com

And put a newly created MyBB forum at that   .com 

I realized later I wanted to use .org

I got the .org domain a few days ago, and after some issues the .org is the primary and the .com is a alias (though I wish now I’d set it as a pointer, not alias. Like I said, newbie. But if it was a pointer it might have made the following problem worse).

Here’s where it goes badly:

When a member goes  to the forum  ending in  .org and logs in (or a new member joins it), they are accepted, but upon successful login at .org,  they end up on the home page of the .org   WITHOUT being logged in.   

The only way to log in and stay logged in is to use log in using the .com

Which makes the .org useless for now.

I need to get this fixed so that the a person comes to the .org version, they can join / login and be logged in at the .org forum.

To enable   testing for this issue, I have created this user account, that is set for moderated posts since there’s no need for posting messages once login at  .org is successful.  
username:   MyBB-test
PW :  mybb12345

I’d prefer for people to use this rather than create a new account, but if you feel it necessary to create a new account then please put “mybb” into the username so I’ll know it’s a test account.

The .org domain is:    contestrockets.org

The original domain that is now an alias is:  contestrockets.com

MyBB version is:  1.8.12

PHP version:  7.0.22

MySQL engine:  MySQLi 5.6.35

And again, the problem is when logging into the .org, they end up at the home page not logged in. 

Only stay logged in if they do it from the .com site.