MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Templates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey!
I'm a new plugin developer and I understand most of the stuff but some thing are really confusing to me. One of them is templates. What exactly are templates? Like I know you can create them but that's all. Also how do variables in templates work? Do they get passed in automatically? Also if I wanted for example to add a button to every thread in showthread.php how would I got about it? Also how to get for example the thread id? Is there a public resource where I can see how to get all the parameters of a page or all the globals and their parameters?? Also what is a breadcrumb? And I'm reading this page https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/development/pl...-new-page/ and idk why did they put this in: 
eval('$sections  = "' . $templates->get('hello_world_template') . '";');

thanks in advance
below guidance could be helpful
* MyBB Plugins Explained
* Plugin MyBB Base & Plugin MySql

templates system is used to display required content easily. see templates related guidance

for adding a button to thread page we have to modify showthread related template(s)

breadcrumb is used for easy navigation of the web site / forum
eg. MyBB Community Forums Resources Plugins Plugin Development

see MyBB variables - php cross reference

eval('$sections  = "' . $templates->get('hello_world_template') . '";'); 
in simple words, variable sections value is evaluated through hello_world_template
(2017-11-01, 12:45 PM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]below guidance could be helpful
* MyBB Plugins Explained
* Plugin MyBB Base & Plugin MySql

templates system is used to display required content easily. see templates related guidance

for adding a button to thread page we have to modify showthread related template(s)

breadcrumb is used for easy navigation of the web site / forum
eg. MyBB Community Forums Resources Plugins Plugin Development