MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Am I understanding plugin hooks?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So instead of requesting a plugin to be made, I decided I'd try my hand at creating my own for the site I help run. My background is in Python and django for work and figured why not try my hand at some php as well. Though before I dive way deep into what I want to start making I want to make sure I understand how creating plugin hooks work.

So basically what I want to do is add a custom profile field (which is already supported) I want to create a plugin that will pull the custom field from the database and use it to show the person's twitch. I've read over the following page and just want to know if I am heading in the right direction. with how hooks work. The randomstreamer_promotion function is most likely completely wrong. Any help on or point to the right direction for the function would be great. From what I understand what I have would replace the entire portal page. I'm still looking up how to only do a certain area of the page. And yes I know I still have to set up the rest of the plugin. I also the know the query I have right now would select all the twitchaccounts form the profilefields and only return the first one. I'm going to create a random number based on how many accounts have the field filled in and have the random number be the selection of which user to pick.

<?php

// Disallow direct access to this file for security reasons
if(!defined("IN_MYBB"))
{
	die("Direct initialization of this file is not allowed.");
}

$plugins->add_hook('portal_start', 'randomstreamer_promotion');

function otgs_info()
{
	return array(
		"name"			=> "OTGS",
		"description"	=> "Team G Twitch Streamer",
		"website"		=> "example.com",
		"author"		=> "TheCrzyDoctor",
		"authorsite"	=> "example.com",
		"version"		=> "1.0",
		"guid" 			=> "",
		"codename"		=> "",
		"compatibility" => "18*"
	);