MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Addressing the Lack of Documentation
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been using MyBB for roughly 4-6 years now, and through a protracted process trial and error I've managed to chart a mental map of its more advanced features.

However, over the last 2 years I've started playing around with plugin development and today I've finally reached beyond the point of frustration. There is a serious lack of documentation when it comes to the nuts and bolts of MyBB itself. The plugin development section in the manual is rudimentary at best and woefully inadequate at worst. Adding custom code to MyBB rapidly becomes a nightmare as the sheer scale of it makes troubleshooting a confusing and arduous affair.

I feel the following things would be an immensely helpful addition to the MyBB manual: a breakdown of the overall structure of MyBB, including a schematic of where each PHP file fits into the picture; explanations of how the core systems work, i.e.: how templates are rendered; and a list of global objects in each script or family of scripts and the fields defined for them.

MyBB's source is quite chimeric at this point and wading through it to understand components or references is a wasteful, headache-inducing time sink, and currently the sole alternative is supplicating to the community forums and praying for a response from somebody who knows what they're talking about.

Is there a list of global objects already defined somewhere I'm not aware of? If not, what can we do to start one?
There's a page with a list of hooks that might aid you when creating plugins if you didn't already know.

https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/development/plugins/hooks/
agreed that available documentation is inadequate.
And the guidance is rather scattered across different sections / topics ...

anyway,