MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Friendly URLs (aka pretty URLs, semantic URLs, etc)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Is this feature ever going to be included in the core of MyBB? I'm new to MyBB and I've decided to use it for one of my projects. I find that there are basically only two things that MyBB is clearly missing: a responsive layout (but I know it's going to be responsive soon, in 1.9) and "pretty" URLs. By pretty URLs I mean those like www.example.com/whatever/title-with-keywords-here/. I know some people say there are not really important for SEO, but the truth is that they are a ranking factor and every SEO professional has always taken this into account. More importantly, they make the URL semantic, so they can be read by humans and they definitely make a lot more sense. Even if all this was arguable, it seems to me that virtually every web application nowadays has "friendly" URLs, including all the popular CMSs, online communities, etc. I believe most people expect to see semantic URLs in modern web applications, so why not thinking of implementing it in MyBB? By the way, I know there is a plugin/mod/extension that is supposed to do this already, but I don't like to rely on extensions for delicate matters (URLs are "delicate", they should not break or change unexpectedly). You know, extensions might stop being maintained, might break during updates and bugfixes might have longer delays than the core... so my philosophy is that extensions should provide simple features that are not vital (if they break nobody dies), while important and complex features should be part of the core, if they make sense.

So what's your opinion on this? Is it difficult to implement this feature in the core? Any chance of seeing it in 1.x, or 2.x?