MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Is it worth trying to make the default theme responsive? (MyBB 1.8)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to MyBB and I am going to use it for a project that hopefully will be online in about a couple of months. I saw that there are hardly any responsive themes for MyBB, and they are not complete anyway (I checked some pages on the demo sites and some were not responsive). So, for these and other reasons, I was thinking of keeping the default theme and modify it to make it responsive. I know HTML and CSS, it's not a problem for me to modify the default theme, but I have a few important questions:

1. How many templates do I actually need to modify? The database table where templates are stored seems to have about a thousand rows, so I wonder how much stuff I'd have to modify. I don't need to make everything responsive, I only care about the main pages used by most users and visitors (threads, posts, profiles, search, etc.), so for example I don't need to make the moderation/admin panel responsive, that can remain fixed. I'm asking this question because I'd like to get an idea of how much work I'd have to do and if it's worth it before I even start, considering that the project should go online in a few months at most and that I heard MyBB 1.9 will have a responsive template by default and that's supposed to be released soon (hopefully).

2. What happens when you update MyBB and you have a customized theme? I suppose (but I'm not sure at all) that updates in the 1.8 branch don't affect the theme, which will continue to work and nothing needs to be changed. Is it so? In the same way, if I modify the default theme of 1.9 (when it's released), will it continue to work ok after every update in the 1.9 branch?