MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Organize users in a mybb forum into "Teams" (via custom groups)?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all

I am a newbie just helping to set up an online forum on our site using mybb

Our tech expert has set it up for single sign in -- registering and logging into our site will also give users access to our mybb forum

What I would like to do is to have users be able to organize themselves into "teams" and for users to be able to sort the posts on the forum by team.

After a little looking, I noticed that an admin can assign custom user groups, and I am thinking that maybe these could be our teams.

So my questions:

1) does that sound correct -- we can organize users by "team" using custom groups?

2) can one set up the forum so that threads can be sorted by custom group (i.e. by team)? The goal is to have all of the threads be able to be sorted by team.

3) can the group have an icon that would allow a thread (and users within that thread) to be identified by team/custom group?

4) in our site's database (not the mybb database), teams have team names and team id's.  Can we set it up so that corresponding teams (i.e. custom user groups) of the same name are automatically created in mybb once that team is created in our site's database?

If there are any mybb forums out there which are organized as I have envisioned above, I would love to have a look at them.

thank you!
Jason
This is mostly custom work. The teams sounds doable by creating groups and then setting permissions. Your members can then either join freely or you can control access with the stock mybb options.
thanks Ashley! I am going to play around with this a bit. In the meantime, if anyone knows of any mybb forums out there that do something like what I am envisioning, please let me know.