MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Need a newbie intro to upgrades and templates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I'm new to hosting a forum using MyBB. I really like this forum app but I had an issue with the "Mobile MyBB 1.8" theme when I recently did my first upgrade to v1.8.20. I found the solution to this issue searching this forum, thanks to drguild. But I'd like to better understand what's going on when upgrading the main forum code.

I read the instructions about upgrade. It says:

Quote:You can either revert these templates to their default - meaning all the changes you’ve made to it will be removed - or you can see a Diff Report which will show you exactly what’s changed. If you have a custom theme installed, it is probably best that you look at the Diff Report and apply the changes you need.

Diff report shows changes to some templates. These changes were not done by me. I understand that the templates wer changed by the upgrade installer (if I'm right). Then, how would I know what changes need to be reverted or and those to be kept if I'm not the developer of the theme templates and if the theme has not been updated recently?

Why does the upgrade changes the templates if we need to revert them?

Does this verification process need to be done after each upgrade? Is it normally mentioned in the upgrade notice (I do not remember having read an alert when doing the upgrade).

Thanks for any clarification that would make me more confortable maintaining my forum.
(2019-03-18, 03:23 PM)jlalonde Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

I'm new to hosting a forum using MyBB. I really like this forum app but I had an issue with the "Mobile MyBB 1.8" theme when I recently did my first upgrade to v1.8.20. I found the solution to this issue searching this forum, thanks to drguild. But I'd like to better understand what's going on when upgrading the main forum code.