MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Can't edit existing users, other than self
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
For some reason, even though I am an administrator, I am unable to edit anything associated with any user other than myself in the AdminCP/Users area.

Even if I make no changes at all, simply clicking on 'Save User' creates error message "The following errors were encountered: The username you entered already exists. Please enter a different username."

I am not sure when this issue first appeared - but last time I tried to edit a user, I had no problem - though this might have been a couple of versions ago.

I have tried verifying files and check templates  (no problems found), rebuilding all database caches, clearing browser cache, resetting all counters, optimizing database, and upgrading from version 1.9.19 to 1.9.20 then running upgrade script per installation instructions, then doing all the former things again - none of these made any difference. 

How can I sort this problem out?

I have a user standing by who has lost password and who no longer has their old registered email address, so can't do a password reset - would like to edit their profile directly to solve rather than deleting their account and telling them to start again.

Any help most appreciated
(2019-04-15, 09:48 AM)ArchPrime Wrote: [ -> ]For some reason, even though I am an administrator, I am unable to edit anything associated with any user other than myself in the AdminCP/Users area.

Even if I make no changes at all, simply clicking on 'Save User' creates error message "The following errors were encountered: The username you entered already exists. Please enter a different username."

I am not sure when this issue first appeared - but last time I tried to edit a user, I had no problem - though this might have been a couple of versions ago.