MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Possible to disable Read/Unread system?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I couldn't find any previous instance of this question, but is there a simple toggle somewhere to disable the display of the large Read/Unread icons? We have a large forum and nobody uses the read/unread system, and the screen real estate is at a premium.

I'm not a programmer, but am gingerly modifying the default theme templates to fit better on small (or mobile) screens while we wait for 1.9... but I don't want to change too much by manually deleting code snippets in 100 scattered template files that I can never find twice... so if there's a "setting" to turn off those giant dots it would buy us some space and save me hours of frustration... thanks in advance!
There's no option to do this.

forumbit_depth2_forum, forumbit_depth2_cat templates:

Find and remove:

<td class="{$bgcolor}" align="center" width="1"><span class="forum_status forum_{$lightbulb['folder']} ajax_mark_read" title="{$lightbulb['altonoff']}" id="mark_read_{$forum['fid']}"></span></td>

forumbit_depth1_cat template:

Change colspan="5" to colspan="4"

<td class="thead{$expthead}" colspan="5">

Index template:

remove the legend if you have not already done so:

<dl class="forum_legend smalltext">
	<dt><span class="forum_status forum_on" title="{$lang->new_posts}"></span></dt>
	<dd>{$lang->new_posts}</dd>

<dt><span class="forum_status forum_off" title="{$lang->no_new_posts}"></span></dt>
	<dd>{$lang->no_new_posts}</dd>

<dt><span class="forum_status forum_offclose" title="{$lang->forum_closed}"></span></dt>
	<dd>{$lang->forum_closed}</dd>

<dt><span class="forum_status forum_offlink" title="{$lang->forum_redirect}"></span></dt>
	<dd>{$lang->forum_redirect}</dd>
</dl>
<br class="clear" />