MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: v 1.9 and mobile layout timeline
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Noob here. I just got the latest MyBB V 1.8.22 running on my server. I did my due diligence and spent a couple of hours searching for an answer to these questions :)

1. Is mobile support *definitely* in the upcoming version 1.9 ? The roadmap says it will be, "fully responsive and mobile ready" :)

2. If so, when is that version coming out?

Context: I personally use desktops mostly. But all my users are mobile kinda people. I got MyBB working, and was saddened to see that the layout on mobile is just the desktop stuff squished into the mobile screen :(  Unfortunately, I just can't go with that.

I see that there are some themes that support mobile. But for various reasons, inc. security, I can only use official MyBB stuff.

Thank you to the MyBB guys who built this. Any help on the above?

Mike
Not a developer, just a seasoned member who makes plugins and spends a lot of time here. But I will say that 1.9 is going to be 100% mobile friendly. This is confirmed, and the conversion to a responsive theme is already done. Smile

Unfortunately, there is no set date (or even really an estimate) for its release date. The best place to look for more details would be github, as all development pretty much happens publicly. It won't be happening in the super-near future, they usually announce a lot of details when the development version is closer to release.

That said, I would not skip on making your theme responsive. I made a custom one for my website some number of years back, and have had to manually make it responsive one page at a time. It's definitely a process, but there are a number of people who have released responsive designs for MyBB already.