MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [split] MyBB 1.9 Development
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2020-06-12, 11:41 AM)itsmeJAY Wrote: [ -> ]MyBB 2.0 was announced in 2017 or 2018.  Meanwhile more than 2 years have passed and nothing or only very slowly happens.

I have already given up hope and will leave the community at the end of the year if there is no clear statement from the team.  I will then turn to any community that is a bit more active and doesn't deliberately eggplant with its members.
I already been practicing with phpBB because I just don't see any future left in MyBB. Honestly the hardest part of phpBB to me is the theme system which I have very little knowledge with coding or designing, etc but I am able to figure it out on my own. 

It is responsive out of the box, it is statistically more secure, it has important features out of the box like Alerts/Notifications built in. 

I like how some good plugins on phpBB are actually actively developed by phpBB so you know you don't have to worry about compatibility issues, it seems like every other release of MyBB some good plugins break and they just aren't actively developed anymore.

MyBB is an amazing forum software don't get me wrong, but the project itself is just dying over the years.

I hope they get 1.9 going very soon because if not I fear it will be the end of MyBB. I personally cannot see myself launching a forum on 1.8 when there is much better options out there.

I know we will hear the same old response MyBB is a volunteer project and they work on there own time. Well so is other forum software which is way ahead of MyBB now.