MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Cannot edit the theme
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I am having a problem with editing any theme in myBB.

I am completely new to myBB but I had different forums in the past. The problem is that when I try to update the CSS it doesn't seem to save. Or rather it saves but has no effect.

What I do:

ACP > Templates & Styles > Themes > theme name eg default > Edit Stylesheet

At this point I get a list of CSS sheets that I would like to edit, but it seems no matter what I do, there is no change to the way the forum looks.

E.g I go to global.css where I can change the background, color, fonts, logo etc... or I should be able to, but it doesn't have any effect.

When I go to:

ACP > Templates & Styles > Templates > theme name eg default >

it does save, but there I cannot find what I want to change. This is all very confusing to me Sad
Did you refresh your browser after changing css? Or try clearing browser cache.
(2020-08-25, 08:58 PM)panayot Wrote: [ -> ]Did you refresh your browser after changing css? Or try clearing browser cache.

That's it! It seems to work better in Chrome though, when I clear cache in Firefox which is my primary browser it does nothing until the next day...

But thank you for pointing this out, I feel a little silly right now Shy
(2020-08-26, 11:41 AM)asaka Wrote: [ -> ]
(2020-08-25, 08:58 PM)panayot Wrote: [ -> ]Did you refresh your browser after changing css? Or try clearing browser cache.

That's it! It seems to work better in Chrome though, when I clear cache in Firefox which is my primary browser it does nothing until the next day...

Glad to see this resolved.
Some important point : Sometimes hard refresh is the way to clear cache. If you use cloudflare, then use developer mode whenever you make such css edits.
(2020-08-26, 02:15 PM)WallBB Wrote: [ -> ]
(2020-08-26, 11:41 AM)asaka Wrote: [ -> ]