MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: What is $db?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I downloaded a plugin and I searched everywhere but it immediately started using
$db

I don't see how it was declared anywhere?

I'm running into a SQL error so I'm wondering if it's using MySQL instead of PostgreSQL which is what I installed

... I've never used PHP before I'm just confused how none of the files declared $db but started using it right away

edit:
So I changed a setting in myBB and this is more detail for the error:
0 - ERROR: syntax error at or near "`" LINE 1: CREATE TABLE `mybb_newpoints_settings` ( ^
CREATE TABLE `mybb_newpoints_settings` ( `sid` int(10) UNSIGNED NOT NULL auto_increment, `plugin` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '', `name` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '', `title` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '', `description` text NOT NULL, `type` text NOT NULL, `value` text NOT NULL, `disporder` smallint(5) UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '0', PRIMARY KEY (`sid`) ) ENGINE=MyISAM

edit: how come it's using backticks ` instead of quotes ' or " ?

edit: ok it looks like MySQL uses backticks, and that's not a thing in PostgreSQL?
$db is a variable that is defined in MyBB's initialization files and is available across every file in MyBB. You won't see it initialized in the plugin file itself because it is initialized in a globally included file, along with $mybb, $input, etc. All of these are available across all of MyBB.

However, just a quick look at this query and it is requesting the MyISAM engine, which is not present (IIRC) in PostgreSQL. This alone is a pretty clear indication that this plugin does not appear to support PostgreSQL, and if this query were to be fixed, others would likely be broken as well.