MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Hiring MyBB expert for 1.8.3 to 1.8.24 migration
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

Apologies in advance about the length of this message, I am trying to be complete in describing the problem. I have been working with MyBB since 2007, so I am definitely not a newbie to MyBB. My problem is I am trying to migrate 1.8.3 to a freshly installed 1.8.24 (I will install a mobile theme later).

Every time I run the upgrade script or try to install and transform/copy over the 1.8.3 data to the 1.8.24 database, I am getting the lovely and ambiguous "MyBB Internal Error" when I go to the main index page for MyBB. I've double-checked all of the MyBB forums messages I could find where the community offers up ideas for Internal Error cases, but the suggestions usually end up talking about file or database permissions--I've confirmed all of that is fine.  Anyhow, here's my observations so far, and then some assumptions:

What I've tried:

1. I can install a fresh 1.8.24 on the same host (different dir) and MyBB works without issues (no surprise there). So I know we're good on host config, database, and file permissions. The MyBB installer claims my host is compliant, as well. At this point, it's almost certainly the database.

2. I used the same MySQL user account that is currently running the production version of the forums, so I ruled out issues with the MySQL user and privileges. Otherwise the 1.8.24 version I installed simply wouldn't work (see #1).