MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: MyBB error message (42) preventing access to club members forum
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Not sure why it chose to bork itself but our forum seems to have stuffed up mid-upgrade.

When trying to access the site we are all greeted by this screen. This prevents any access to the forums, either as a regular user or as admin.
[Image: error-msg.jpg]
The main issue I have is that because I can't log in to the forum, I can't get access to the admin_cp stuff to see if there is a way to fix things or do a rollback.

Is there a way to load back in a pre-borked backup without access to the admin stuff? I still have access to the hosting site control panel so I can see all of the files and directories but I'm a complete database novice that has always just relied on the automated install/update scripts and then done the tweaking from within the fully installed/setup forum.

According to the Softaculous installer, we're running MyBB v1.8.19 with minor and major auto-upgrades enabled.

The error message generated in the error log is:
[14-Jan-2023 11:17:59 UTC] PHP Fatal error:  require_once(): Failed opening required '/home/z27warp/public_html/warp-forums/install/resources/upgrade0.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php73/root/usr/share/pear') in /home/z27warp/public_html/warp-forums/install/upgrade.php on line 350

So, is there a way to roll back to the pre-update attempt? Or do I need to find a way to plough on through the failed update? Do I need to provide more information to help gain a solution? Very worst case, is there a way to import our old forum into v2.x of MyBB? I'd hate to lose almost a decade's worth of posts.

Any and all offers of help are gladly accepted and thanks in advance.
You need to run the upgrade script. Go to yoursite.com/install/upgrade.php and run through the steps.