MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: A little CMS plugin (still sorta in beta)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everyone,

This is what I've been working on today. I guess its in a state that I can throw it out there so people can play with it and give me some feedback but there are still one or two things missing to call it finished. It'll also probably contain some nasty bugs seeing I haven't really tested it yet.

I'm also not to happy about how I solved a few things, especially the way the javascript is embedded into this thing, but hey I'm new to myBB so I don't know how to do things the right way yet, I'm also no javascript expert Big Grin

So what is it? Its a simple little menu based CMS system based on what I was using for the old version of my site. Basically you take a category and each subforum in the category becomes a menu on the header. Each sub subforum and each topic in the subforum becomes a menu line that the user can click on. The link it brings you to can be configured. Right now its configured by default to two pages I have yet to write but you could simply direct them to the myBB forum and thread views and it would be fully functional.

The idea for the two files I still have to write are to create simple read only portal type thingies.

Optional, if you have a topic with a single post simply containing a link, that link will be used. The detection whether the post only contains a link is pretty weak though.

The order in which menus are displayed is alfabetical but it will strip any text before a semicolon so you can use that to control the order, dirty but it works.
Also it will try to find an icon gif file by the same name as the subforum/topic to display (spaces are underscored), if it doesn't exist it defaults to the two icons I've included in the zip file.