MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: users can't register ..."multiple registrations error?"
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I got this email from a user today:

"Hi,
I tried to register on your forum and it stated that I had multiple registrations. Well, I just learned of this site and this is my first attempt to register, so I have no idea what that is all about! It also stated that I had visited the site today at 0915 P.M. January 16, interesting since it is only 0821 P.M. January 16.
Should I give up? I'm just not into the "Registration Battle" any more."

Anyone help with this?
maybe IP problem, when you connect to the internet you receive an IP address that belonged to somebody else before you, so maybe that IP was belonged someone tried register to your site.

ask that visitor to register again and explain the problem, also I suggest you offer him to just send to you his information and you'll register for him.
dvb Wrote:maybe IP problem, when you connect to the internet you receive an IP address that belonged to somebody else before you, so maybe that IP was belonged someone tried register to your site.

ask that visitor to register again and explain the problem, also I suggest you offer him to just send to you his information and you'll register for him.

Can't be IP problem since I am allowing more than one registration per IP.

I did notice two things which may have caused that error:

1. The user name had a space and a period at the end of it which they may have added by mistake. So when they tried to login and they did not use the space and period ...then this may have caused that error.

2. The user was in my "waiting activation" group. Which means maybe they didn't go to their email address and click on the registration link.

I corrected the user name for them and I activated them myself but, I don't know what causes that error ?