MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Issues With Outgoing Emails!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey all,

I am new to the world of forums, and in particular the building of and execution. However I have managed to install, and setup a forum on my website, which is working great except for one issue that is driving me crazy.

When adding dummy accounts, the confirmation emails are not being sent out, unless the email address is part of my domain. If I create a user account with [email protected] its fine, but if it was [email protected] I have no joy.....

What am I doing wrong??

Thanks
Check to make sure your host has the php mail function enabled. Some hosts do not.
(2008-07-05, 02:29 AM)labrocca Wrote: [ -> ]Check to make sure your host has the php mail function enabled. Some hosts do not.

I'm pretty sure that it does, but i'll double check before I waste peoples time with something that can not be achieved

Cheers
It would appear that it does, and I have run a mailtest.php that was supplied on the host forum. The host is free-space.net.

Any ideas what to try next?

Thanks
So basically, the mail sending works, BUT, the From email address must be a part of your domain? If so, that's most likely a host issue, because MyBB doesn't force you to have a From email address to be the same as your domain.
(2008-07-05, 04:16 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote: [ -> ]So basically, the mail sending works, BUT, the From email address must be a part of your domain? If so, that's most likely a host issue, because MyBB doesn't force you to have a From email address to be the same as your domain.

I'm not sure what is happening, but I assume that it must be a host issue. Like you've said, it is sending mail out, but only if the address is associated to my domain
The response from my host is that: