MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Create several hundred users automatically
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello everyone,
I am quite new to MyBB, but so far everything works fine and it is totaly amazing. So, a big thanks to everyone contributing to this great project.

I have a hole bunch of users (300+), needed to be created automatically at once. I have all relevant information in an excel-file (name, email, random generated password). What's the best way to create them automatically?
Don't understand me wrong, I am not looking for a 2-click solution, just something more comfortable than creating all 300+ manually.

Any help or hint is highly appreciated.

Best regards
I can make a quick script for you at a reasonable price. It can be done today even. PM me if interested.
You could try importing it through phpMyAdmin as a CSV file. It probably will require some tweaking so it is highly recommend you backup your mybb_users table before doing so (or make a copy of it elsewhere and import it there first as a test).

If you're any good with PHP you can write your own script to read in your CSV file line by line, and use a loop to insert each row into the database.
Hi,
thank you for your quick replies. I think importing the entire user-db via phpmyadmin is the best solution for me, since I have almost no php-experience.

So the right steps would be:

- create example user with presettings
- export this row from mybb_users
- use this row as preset for all users in database
- change UID/password/username/email (any other fields required to "individualize" a user [on system-level, not stuff like icq,jabber,location,etc]? should salt be empty or is there any correlation to the md5-hashed pw needed for an initial login?)
- save as cvs
- import into mybb_users and pray

Are there any pitfalls on this I should be aware of?

Thanks and best regards! =)