MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: I cannot get the email function to work correctly
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello, I have been running a MyBB forum for about 3 months now and I have been unable to get the "send user an email" function to work. I searched the forums for help and I found a link to test send an email via php and it failed. Does that mean I need to reinstall php (currently using version 5.2.6)? The error that I find in Tools and Maint-->System Email Log is: Unable to connect to the mail server with the given details.<br /><br />26258504: Unable to find the socket transport "ssl" - did you forget to enable it when you configured PHP?

PHP: 5.2.6
MyBB: 1.41
My server sits behind a router, which makes me wonder if I need to forward a port?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Oh Your using gmail to send our mail out. nice
But, Your send mail path is no value.
I am not sure about Windows and How your running but I do think you should read over a few tutorials about setting up mail on a Windows based OS. and the router port your using should be forwarded. OR It prob getting blocked by the router and getting sent back our out into nothing.
(2008-08-19, 06:43 PM)Deathstarr Wrote: [ -> ]Oh Your using gmail to send our mail out. nice
But, Your send mail path is no value.
I am not sure about Windows and How your running but I do think you should read over a few tutorials about setting up mail on a Windows based OS. and the router port your using should be forwarded. OR It prob getting blocked by the router and getting sent back our out into nothing.

Thanks for the quick reply Deathstarr. I the "send mail path" is blank because in php.ini there was a note that sendmail_path is for UNIX users only.
You could use SMTP and set up an SMTP server on your computer.
http://www.hmailserver.com/