MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Questions and problems after installing
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

I have installed myBB with great success!

Now i have few questions:

1. How can i change the default group which is being registered?
I created a custom group lets call it "Group Z" and i wish that from now on
whom ever is registering will be AUTO grouped to "Group Z" instead the default "Registered" Group.

2. When i am enabling in the configuration the SEO friendly urls, Only then
when i try to use the forum i get "404 file not found" errors, how can i fix that?

3. How can i change the logo?

4. Is there a way to have an Invite kind of operation?

what i mean is that as an ADMIN i enter users email and invite them
to the forum to register as "Group Z" while normal registration is not "Group Z"

Thing is that i am trying to do is that i have a software and i wish to have a beta testing forum which is hidden.

for now there are no users in the forum so everyone whom register will be a beta tester. so when beta testing is over i wish to have new categories-forums installed for regular registered users support, and leave the beta testers forum hidden.

that is my goal.

thank you.
Hey,

1. There probably is someway to do this, either as a setting in the ACP or through source file edits... not 100% sure as I don't have access to a forum at the moment.

Why don't you just call the default registration group, "Group Z", and then create a second group, then promote your users to it?

2. Make sure you have the setting turned on in the ACP. You can find this in Server and Optimization Options.

Second, make sure you have the .htaccess file in your forum root directory. Chances are, if you've done these things, there's a problem with the server, so contact your host.