MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Customizing my forum to be unique
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been running a Mybb forum for a little over nine months now, with pre made custom themes which to be honest aren't really my cup of tea nor does it do my forum justice for being unique and different from other related forums.

So I want to customize my forum in every aspect such as theme, layout, buttons.

For the banner/logo I want to make it so my title is visible and never changes, but has a bottom layer that runs an animated GIF that cycles through a different image every so often, just enough to keep the forum fresh without being annoying.

The only barrier I've ran into which is quite an issue is I don't possess the knowledge in CSS, XML, HTML or PHP to make this happen. How can I expect to be a better webmaster if I can not modify or customize my forum/website to appeal to visitors?

So I am seeking help on what is required to make such modifications to Mybb and uniquely customize my forum to suit mine and my visitors needs? What should I expect to learn and what tools would I need?

I can't afford expensive tools like Photoshop and only have free alternatives such as Gimp and Paint.Net to work with.
um, you're gonna have to either learn those things or hire someone else to do it
I would charge 10 dollars through pay pal.
(2008-09-24, 04:09 AM)Bey Brad Wrote: [ -> ]um, you're gonna have to either learn those things or hire someone else to do it

Yes I know, but what should I expect to learn/study in order to do such modifications for Mybb?

I know Mybb uses html/css for templates at least I think it does, but I am unsure of where to start or exactly what needs to be done to customize/create a theme and change the layout of the forum?