MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Config.php settings on Wiindows server, Help!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,
I am new to MyBB, and am excited about transitioning my website, to a BB style. I tried searching for an answer to my question, and have looked on the Wiki, but was unable to find the information I was looking for.

I have uploaded the MyBB files, but am having with the CHMOD step. I am not using Linux, so I understand I do not need to CHMOD, but, on the "Requirements Check" screen, I am having problems.
I received the following error messages
Error
The MyBB Requirements check failed due to the reasons below. MyBB installation cannot continue because you did not meet the MyBB requirements. Please correct the errors below and try again:

The configuration file (inc/config.php) is not writable. Please adjust the chmod permissions to allow it to be written to.

The settings file (inc/settings.php) is not writable. Please adjust the chmod permissions to allow it to be written to.

The cache directory (cache/) is not writable. Please adjust the chmod permissions to allow it to be written to.

The uploads directory (uploads/) is not writable. Please adjust the chmod permissions to allow it to be written to.

The avatars directory (uploads/avatars/) is not writable. Please adjust the chmod permissions to allow it to be written to.

Now when I go into Filezilla, to change the settings of thos files, there are several options. All the boxes are unchecked at the moment, but it is seperated into Owner, Group, and Public rows, each row has boxes for "read" "write" and "execute". I assume that I need to check "write" for all 3 user settings, but shoudl I also check execute for all users?

By the way I am using GoDaddy if it matters.

Appreciate the help, thanks....

Dave