MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Hey I'm new to MyBB, and I've got questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Alright, so basically, I've been viewing forums powered by MyBB, and I personally love them. At the moment I'm a user of SMF, but from what I've seen, MyBB forums look a lot much better and cleaner. MyBB forums look VERY similar to vBulletin, and so I'm trying to make a forum that is very vBulletin-like. From what I've seen, I think MyBB's forums are the most similar to vBulletin because it has the horizontal postbit layout. SMF, phpbb3, and other forums I've tried somehow do not support the horizontal postbit layout.

I've never used MyBB before, so yeah.

Here are my questions:

1) Does MyBB have an automatic mod/theme installer? Or do you have to do them manually?

2) My current forum is powered by SMF. How would I go about converting it to MyBB?

3) What version of MyBB should I use?

4) I love the horizontal postbit layout. Does the horizontal postbit layout come installed by default when you startup a MyBB forum?

5) Is there a mod where you can display more than one custom rank?

5)
1. You upload the files in FTP and then activate plugins and upload a .xml file, both in the ACP.

2. http://www.mybboard.net/downloads/merge-system

3. 1.4.2
(2008-10-20, 05:18 PM)Fratal Wrote: [ -> ]4) I love the horizontal postbit layout. Does the horizontal postbit layout come installed by default when you startup a MyBB forum?

Users can choose between either the horizontal or vertical postbit from their UserCP. (Personally I prefer the older legacy postbit with the info on the left as it doesn't break up the conversation.)
5. What do you mean by custom ranks??