MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [F] Missing PostgreSQL concat function
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
MyBB Version: 1.4.2
PHP Version: 4.3.10
DB Version: PostgreSQL 8.3.3

I often got an SQL error, which says that the function concat does not exist.

e.g. in:
/admin/index.php?module=user/users&action=search&results=1&conditions=a:1:{s:9"usergroup";s:1:"5";}

when I wanted to watch users that are not activated.

And in PostgreSQL there is no concat function. Since there is no way for varying parameters in PostgreSQL function (until now), I created my own concat functions. Since I'm new to MyBB, I don't know how many arguments could be used for concat by MyBB. I've got functions for a maximum of four parameters.

After I created theses functions everthing worked fine

Maybe one could create these functions when installing MyBB:

CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION concat(text, text) RETURNS text AS $$
	SELECT $1 || $2;
$$ LANGUAGE 'sql';

CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION concat(text, text, text) RETURNS text AS $$
	SELECT $1 || $2 || $3;
$$ LANGUAGE 'sql';

CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION concat(text, text, text, text) RETURNS text AS $$
	SELECT $1 || $2 || $3 || $4;
$$ LANGUAGE 'sql';
We use switch statements on the db engine that is currently being used to use the right query
(2008-10-21, 04:20 PM)Ryan Gordon Wrote: [ -> ]We use switch statements on the db engine that is currently being used to use the right query

I see, so I dropped my functions to get back to the errors:

This happens when I am in the admin dashbord and I click on the users awaiting activation:

Quote:SQL Error:
0 - ERROR: function concat(unknown, character varying, unknown) does not exist at character 144 HINT: No function matches the given name and argument types. You might need to add explicit type casts.
Query: