MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Newbie needs advice on hosting and myBB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,

I'll try to explain myself as briefly as possible:

A friend and colleague of mine has had his own website for a number of years. Until very recently, his hosting was provided by a referred acquaintance under typ03 on a shared account.

I have a number of years of experience with both computers (I worked in the games industry) and my own website business which I ran for a number of years. Hence, I have been helping him with advice and what assistance I can give since he is a complete novice however I am NOT an experienced administrator nor do I know very much about the of hosting, cpanel, php admin etc. Recently he decided to set up a forum on his website and as a result, has had to set up his own account and has given me full admin access to the backend in the hope that I can install a forum for him. I have access to both the cpanel cms on the servers, and the latest typ03 cms which has been installed and which we currently use for content creation and editing.

After unsuccessfully trying to create a forum using typ03 extensions, I was guided to this site after external reviews and comments. What I would like somebody to explain to me, is the following:

If I download myBB, am I correct in thinking that this is installed using phpmyAdmin under the cpanel?

If I do this, will the forum content created be integrated with the existing site content under typ03? or will the forum now exist separately and be linked from the existing site?

And most importantly: Since all of this is really a bit of a mystery to me, do you experienced users feel that I am completely misunderstanding both the nature and magnitude of what I am (as a newbie myself) undertaking to do - which is to implement a working forum "straight out of the box"?