MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Switching Hosts [NEED HELP][UNSOLVED]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am switching hosts and I am new to databases and stuff and yes, I do have access to phpMyAdmin.

So I am wondering how am I supposed to transfer my SQL data easily? Since I am so new, I want the steps.
Change your cookie settings and board URL if needed in the ACP first to what the new settings will be - this will break the forum for now but it'll fix itself soon. Make a full file and database backup. Create a new database on the new host, upload your files on the new host and install your forum from scratch (i.e. run ./install/index.php) - this just means it'll write the new database info to ./inc/config.php without you having to manually edit the file. Then, in PHPMyAdmin, select all of the new, blank tables, and 'drop' them. Then upload your backup and everything should work fine. You may have to delete ./inc/settings.php and make it recreate itself with the correct settings from the database.
Thanks a whole lot. But the full file database backup - do I do that from the ACP?

Also, can I just move my stuff from my old FTP to my new instead of a fresh install? I can do the edit in the .inc/config.php.
For database backup: ACP > Tools & Maintenance > Database Backups > New Backup. Then select all tables, select plain text (or compressed if your forum is big - take a backup in both types to be safe), download, structure and data, and Analyze and Optimize Selected Tables to yes. It's also recommended that you make sure that backup is complete by uploading it to a test forum first - nothing worse than realising your backup is corrupt when it's too late to go back.

For files, just compress and/or download via FTP.

And yeah you can do that, the fresh install is more a personal preference, you can edit ./inc/config.php yourself and it'll work fine.