MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: 404 pages - Make your file not found page blend with your forum
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
OK guys, I'm not a coder, so I won't be able to support this hack. Having said that, let's get to it.

This will allow someone in your forum to type www.leftfordeadforum.com/whole-bunch-of-text
and instead of a default ugly 404 page, it will serve up a fully themed error page, that has a search box right there. Man, the people are gonna go wild for this Cool

1. You'll need to make a new global template
Admin CP > Templates > Modify / Delete > Expand "Global Templates" > Add template

and paste this in it
<html>
<head>
<title>404 File Not Found : {$mybb->settings[bbname]}</title>
{$headerinclude}
</head>
<body>
{$header}
<br />
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}" class="tborder">
<tr>
<td class="thead">  <strong>File Not Found</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td height="100" valign="top" class="trow1">Oh No!  It appears that the page you are looking for is either missing, or has moved.  Try searching in the box below to find what you need.</td>
</tr>
</table>

<div>
<br />
<br /></div>

<form method="post" action="./search.php">
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="do_search" />
<table border="0" cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}" class="tborder">
<tr>
<td colspan="2" class="thead"><strong>{$mybb->settings['bbname']} - {$lang->search}</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" width="50%"><strong>{$lang->search_keyword}</strong></td>
<td class="tcat" width="50%"><strong>{$lang->search_username}</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="trow1">
<table><tr>
<td valign="top"><input type="text" class="textbox" name="keywords" size="35" maxlength="250" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>