MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Migrating from Invision?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I am a webmaster at www.scito.nl, and we're completely re-designing the whole thing.
The other webmaster is very fond of invision, and he even wants to spend 200$ on a lifetime license :|
I don't think that it's worth it, So I'm looking around a bit for other forums.
According to him, phpbb is crappy with multi-page threads, and mybboard just puts an extremely high load on your server. That last thing I just can't believe, if mybboard can handle a giant forum like Msgplus forums, then it surely can handle our users.
Also he says he knows invision from inside out, and thinks getting that knowledge for other forums will take lots of time.

What I want to know is basicly some statistics, like server loads for different forums,
and some user opinions on how easy it is to add your own stuff to mybboard (like a completely new profile page), and how easy it is to merge the old data from invision to mybboard...

Everything is appreciated Smile
I'm just about to put mybboard on a little extra account and screw around with it a little Wink
MyBB is fully customizable via the Template System in the Admin CP.

Every template, including the Profile page, is inside this system.

I do not know the server loads for different forums, Chris Boulton, however, can tell you how well MyBB runs on Msg Plus.

We currently do not have any Converters from other message boards, they are, however, planned for the future, so if you'd like to merge, you can ask someone to do it for you (it may require paying them), or you can do it yourself.
I explained it a bit on MSN last night, TB.