MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: PHP MemoryIincrease
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
HI there the forum I have installed throws up an error message that the server limit has been reached, have spoken with the company whos server I use and they have stated that I need to increase the memory on the forum. How do I do this?

I am a complete novice at this stuff so please bare with me...
That's a screw-up on your host's part, it has nothing to do with MyBB.
Ok if it a screw up on their part, knowing that I am a complete novice at this PHP stuff, then what and where do I tell them they are foing wrong. I thought you were able to increase the chache capacity or is it to do with the forum running out of memory???

If you can help point me in the right direction that would be great or point me in the right direction of the person to contact for help in this matter.

baird63
There might be a solution with htaccess. I think that's what your provider means. You can upload a htaccess file with for example this code:
php_value memory_limit 16M and see if this will help. You could check with your provider first ofcourse as not to take to much resources.
So, make a file in a texteditor and save as .htaccess with the line:
php_value memory_limit 16M
inside of it. Upload this to your forum folder and see if it helps.
(2009-04-22, 01:54 PM)knol Wrote: [ -> ]There might be a solution with htaccess. I think that's what your provider means. You can upload a htaccess file with for example this code:
php_value memory_limit 16M and see if this will help. You could check with your provider first ofcourse as not to take to much resources.
So, make a file in a texteditor and save as .htaccess with the line:
php_value memory_limit 16M
inside of it. Upload this to your forum folder and see if it helps.