MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Viewing New Threads vs New Posts
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
My name is sherri, and I am totally new here. I am a moderator with limited admin privileges. My administrator asked for me to post this here, and try to figure this out. Anything I can do to help him out. Thanks in advance for your help. The url site is http://www.everthingberry.net

Many of our members are used to the vBulletin by Jelsoft Industries. With this sytem, when you reply to a thread, And then click "view new threads", your post is not there (as it isn't new to you...)

Scott, one of our members who is a supermoderator on the vBulletin software says this:

after i reply to a post or read a post they hang there shown as read but are still visable in the 'new post' search...make sense right?

BUT

if i leave posts unread and close the internet browser and then a few hours later come back on and hit 'new posts' i wont see any posts that i left unread BUT if i go to the main forum page i can see that there are still unread posts in other forums but it appears that i will see new posts create SINCE i logged off
better?

Does this make any sense here? I am the least techy person in the world, but my admin trusts me to support him and get the job done. Any help will be totally appreciated...

Thanks in advance for your help!
I get this as well. I am pretty sure that it is caused by the new posts not updating straight away, instead it takes some time to update, therefore the read posts disappear.
If I'm not mistaken, the "View New Posts" feature actually goes off your 'lastvisit' data (when your session was last active (IIRC)), rather than the new posts you haven't read yet.