MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: when to use classes
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
so i was just learning the basics of OOP and was wondering

when is it practical to use classes ??

what reason do people have to use them ??

(I'm a noob at this so trying to learn here )

i often see mybb using this whenever i try to code and its awesome

just trying to find out when you *need* to use them

and when you might *want* to use them as they are a good programming practice
It's difficult to say exactly when to use classes, because it varies from person to person. I use classes whenever I have a set of related functions that work on a persistent set of related data. Some people use classes for everything. Some people hate OOP with a passion to the point where they refuse to even try to comprehend using classes.

I, personally, think my definition is best. It lets the user know exactly what is supposed to work with the data they're using.

An example:
In my OS I need a way to keep track of fixed size pages of free memory, give these pages out when needed, and get them back when no longer needed. Perfect fit: a stack class, with a list of free pages, a push member function that adds a no longer needed page to the free stack, and a pop member function that removes a page to give out.

Another example:
I also needed a way to print an integer as it's ASCII representation, because for OS dev you have to do more or less everything yourself at the stage I'm at. This did not need a class because it's a one-off operation. Neither the number being converted, nor the resulting data on the screen need to be kept for the function to work properly. Creating a class for this single operation would have been overkill.

Of course, this is my opinion and YMMV.