MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Newbie here. Replies don't thread. I feel stupid.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
What am I missing?

I just installed MyBB about a week ago and overall am very, very happy with it. This is the first forum I've EVER installed and tried to run and I can't believe how easy it was to get up. (Lucky it's for a very small group so we'll probably survive my inexperience).

Anyway, the one thing that really is making no sense to me is that I can't figure out how to reply to a specific post in a thread, and the delivered help doesn't seem to say. I have tried clicking the checkbox in the upper right. I've tried using quote. I've tried using "quick reply" vs. "New Reply".

To clarify: after any of the above methods of posting a reply, still when I go to "Threaded" view, my reply was posted to the original psot, i.e. the thread is flat.

Anyone want to help out this newb? Thanks in advance!

(edited to change post options & clarify)

I think it'd be helpful for a link~ so we can see first hand what you're talking about.
PHP_Paul Wrote:I think it'd be helpful for a link~ so we can see first hand what you're talking about.

Um, yeah, I know. Sad But so far I've only installed a private forum. Guess I should put up a public sandbox for troubleshooting huh?

I guess if someone just asked, "how do I post a reply to a reply, so that it shows up threaded, rather than a reply to the original post?", what would be the steps?

If I'm not making it clear enough for anyone to give me an answer, that's okay, we can live with it for now. I really don't think it's the software that's the problem, I think I just haven't figured it out.

Also forgot to mention I am using Firefox. I guess I should test in IE and see if it behaves the same. But I just hate IE. Wink
Try clicking the quote button below the post you want to reply to.