MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Some questions on how to do things.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
i'm new at making them plugins, and i find it very interesting. anyway, i'm making a plugin for the Member Profiles page, and i'm not exactly sure how to "officially" do things using the plugins.

1) how do i add a template element? i want to use $templates->get function, so i guess i need to insert some stuff into the database. right now, i'm doing a manual $db->query(insert into the template table duing the on_activate event... is there a smarter "forum way" to do this...some sort of function, or some generic template, so that i can use an appropriate template for different skin sets. (right now, i just added one that matches the default skin)

2) how do i add things to the language file? (other than manually editing it)

3) oh yea, can someone direct me to a plugin that includes an admin portion? my plugin needs one, and i need an example
*cough*
mike.cal Wrote:1) how do i add a template element? i want to use $templates->get function, so i guess i need to insert some stuff into the database. right now, i'm doing a manual $db->query(insert into the template table duing the on_activate event... is there a smarter "forum way" to do this...some sort of function, or some generic template, so that i can use an appropriate template for different skin sets. (right now, i just added one that matches the default skin)
I use this to insert templates in a plugin. The sid = -1 makes the template global, so it's used for all themes.
	$template_1 = array(
		"tid"			=> "NULL",
		"title"			=> 'templatename',
		"template"		=> 'template content',
		"sid"			=> "-1",
	);

$db->insert_query(TABLE_PREFIX."templates", $template_1);
mike.cal Wrote:2) how do i add things to the language file? (other than manually editing it)