MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [php developer question]using classes inside of other classes
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm currently a learning PHP Developer, and I was wondering, how do you use other classes inside of other classes.

What I mean is that throught the MyBB source code I've seen things like "$db->simple_select()" in classes like like "parser".

My question is how do you get PHP to do that, because when I try to create a new instance of a class ($db = new mysqli($host, $user, $pass, $name)), I get an error.

Thank you.
Those are called class operations. They're basically functions created within a class. Hence, you'd be instantiating the class via its name, then using that instance to call a function as used in your example $db->simple_select(); . The $db var is the instance of the class, and the simple_select would be one of the class operations or functions.

The subclasses if I remember correctly would be extending the superclass, and not actually within the superclass.
Thank you, but that was not the answer I was looking for.

Lets say I create a class called "Foo"

class Foo {
    function getBar() {
        $db->getSomeDBDATA();
        $bar = $db->fetch_array();
        return($bar);
    }
}

Now, if I do that, I get an error, because that "$db->" doesn't really belong there, but I've seen it all the time in the MyBB source, so how do i get it to do that?
To call in other variables and objects, make sure you use this on the first line of a function:
global $db, $variables, $other_objects...;
(2009-09-26, 03:52 AM)Xadrieth Wrote: [ -> ]Thank you, but that was not the answer I was looking for.

Lets say I create a class called "Foo"

class Foo {
    function getBar() {
        $db->getSomeDBDATA();
        $bar = $db->fetch_array();
        return($bar);
    }
}