MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Noob questions - no install yet
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I use Dreamweaver to maintain a website for a non-profit. (In other words I'm a volunteer, not an IT pro -- no paycheck, either) Took over a very basic existing site and and upgraded it and expanded it -- mostly self taught with just a basic knoweledge of HTML. I've been asked to explore adding a forum to the site. I'm asking these questions here and similar ones at the SMF site because MyBB and SMF seem to be the highest regarded freeware packages according to the googling I've done.

My thoughts are to add a navigation button on our site and link it to the forum software. Possible?

Since I use Dreamweaver, could I just add the install files into our websites root directory, link to it, and use Dreamweaver to upload everything?

Can I use Dreamweaver as my FTP program instead of FileZilla? If I can, what about all these CHMOD function things the installation wiki talks about. Can Dreamweaver do this like the wike says FileZilla can?

I'm a bit confused about the command panel. Is that a part of MyBB that is accessed somehow internally or is it an external app somewhere?

Thanks.
I'm not really sure what you're asking here Confused

To link from your site to the forum, just add a link on the site...

I guess you can use Dreamweaver to upload the files if you really want to but I don't know if you can CHMOD them via Dreamweaver too, that's probably a better question for the Dreamweaver site... we don't know every feature of every program Smile

I'm not sure what you're referring to by 'command panel', can you clarify...??
Thanks for the quick reply.